Derek Jarman

In my day job I have been lucky enough to work be working on a project to do with Derek Jarman, to be honest, I have never been a huge fan of his films before, and prefer his writing and music videos, however having read and seen a lot about him and his background I have realised that the problem was not with them, but with me, the thoughts and processes behind what he did, the messages and influences are so incredible and often really exciting – I know that might all sound really trite and nonsensical, I just wanted to be honest and work out what it is I find so exciting and inspiring about his work and the way he approached everything he made..I guess I love how romantic a lot of what he did was, romantic in all senses, in the sensitive sense, in the sentimental sense and also often in the melodramatic sense, to remain romantic in this way I guess I become attracted to the intimacy and the sense of honesty and shared experience…not sure where this is going…. watch this space I guess..

Leave a Reply

